An Interview With Apps

Friendships are very queer. I met my closest friend, Apps, by a freak accident. We both were travelling in the same bus. I had left my identity card there by mistake. The next morning, Apps returned it. This was the beginning of a friendship that would blossom one day into sisterhood.

Apart from being a great friend and an annoying chatter-box, she is a talented artist and dancer. Well-known by Bengalureans, she has very kindly agreed to give me her interview for my Blogging 201 assignment.

Please do note that Apps is NOT her real name (she has a holy horror about her friends reading this interview). Probably, seeing the usage of her nickname, ‘Apps’ itself might make her kill me when she reads this.

Here goes nothing.

You are well-known for your paintings and dances. What are your other passions?

Ha, ha, you covered my interests pretty well in your first question itself. But you know, I just LOVE reading. And swimming. And badminton. Not that I find time for it these days, what with hectic school work, dance classes, and drawing classes…

Your paintings stand out because of their originality. From where do you get your ideas?

Personal innovation.

Your favorite artist?

Raja Ravi Varma. He has class.

Your artwork usually includes powerful portrayal of social injustices and environmental issues. Is there a reason behind them, or is it just coincidence?

(laughs) Maybe a mix of both. Most competitions usually require me to paint about such issues.

But yes, I admit that as a feminist, many of my paintings feature the injustice meted out to girls, especially in India. I would like to spread awareness on issues like female infanticide, girl child education, Hindu Code Bill, etc.

As for the environment…well, as they say, paint nature for a brighter future.

Prizes you have won for painting?

I hope your readers don’t think I’m showing off, but I just am too modest. Anyways, here are a few:

1. First Prize won consecutively for two years in Drawing Competition organised by Karnataka Forest Department whose Prizes are given by H’ble Governor of Karnataka during Oct. 2010 and Oct. 2011.
2. First Prize secured in Young World Painting Competition organised by The Hindu-NIE Initiative during Nov. 2011.
3. First Prize won consecutively during June 2010 and June 2011 in Painting Competition conducted by Karnataka State Pollution Control Board. In June 2010, Prize was given by H’ble Chief Minister of Karnataka and in June 2011, Prize was given by Sri Chandrashekar Kambara, Jnanapeet Awardee.
4. Distinction and First Rank in Karnataka State in Lower Grade Drawing Examination conducted by Karnataka Secondary Education Board.

Other than these, I’ve been awarded by ISRO, Kids For Tigers, and have been awarded by the Governor of Karnataka four times for Achievement in the Field of Art.

Your message to budding artists?

Paint your passion, not what others tell you.

Whoa, I’m impressed. What about dancing? Since when have you been dancing?

Since when have I NOT been dancing? Dancing is as natural as breathing to me, and I’ve been dancing for a long, long time now.

Favourite dance forms which you’ve learnt?

Officially, I’m learning Bharatanatyam and Mohiniattam. Unofficially, I know a bit of Kathak, Kuchipudi, and Contemporary Dance. As for favourites, no discrimination!

Your dance aspirations?

To complete my arangetam. And to dance till I drop.

Rapid Fire

  • Favourite Actor – Hrithik Roshan
  • Favourite Actress – Deepika Padukone
  • Favourite Film – Happy New Year, 3 Idiots, Taare Zameen Par
  • Favourite Song – Tough one. I give up.

 

 

 

Your Epic Thoughts...

