Metamorphosis

Metamorphosis

“You’re so ugly!” they said,

“Awkwardly green and squiggly!”

“Wiggling around like you own the

World, but as worthless as you seem!”

So discouraged, I started to spin

A thin, flimsy web around myself.

Thus cocooned inside, I had some

Quite time for self-introspection on

Where I had gone wrong, what I had done

To deserve such treatment, when finally it

Dawned on me that I wasn’t the one at fault,

They were the ones wrapped in their own ideas,

They were the ones who went wrong!

Realisation washed across me

Wave after wave, cleansing me of

My preconceived notions of myself.

I spread my wings, breaking the cocoon.

Finally, I was free from the bondage I was

Voluntarily chained to, but not any more!

Suddenly, I was no longer the awkward

Squiggly caterpillar the world knew before.

I had bright, colourful wings, filled with hope,

For spreading love and happiness everywhere.

Now, I had metamorphosed into something so

Delightful, for I was a magnificent butterfly!

13 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

Your Epic Thoughts...

