#5 Top Ten Tueday

Late again! Yesterday’s prompt wanted us to name our ALL-TIME favourite authors. Pretty exciting prompt!  Here are my top ten favourites:

10. Enid Blyton –  With Secret Seven, Famous Five, and The Magic Faraway Tree, she kindled the fire of reading in me.

9. Roald Dahl – Oh Matilda! Oh Esiotrot! Oh The Fantastic Mr.Fox! Roald Dahl brightened my childhood with his innovative and quirky stories.

8. Ruskin Bond – Quite the children’s writer and a YA writer too! From The Room On The Roof and Our Trees Still Grow in Dehra, he made me cry and laugh in turn with his stunning description of nature and gave words to emotions we couldn’t name.

7. Agatha Christie – My cousin compelled me to read Evil Under The Sun until I went out of my mind. By far, she’s one of the best crime writers the world has ever seen.

6. Kalki Krishnamurthi – Ponniyin Selvan ( The Son Of The Ponni River ) is one of the most majestic historical romances ever written by him. I am unfortunate to not know enough Tamil to read this book, but even in English, I was attracted by his vivid descriptions and intriguing story for the throne of the Cholas.

5. Frances Hodgson Burnett – Anybody who has read The Little Princess or The Secret Garden will know my reasons for selecting her. If you haven’t read them…well, give it a shot, and you’ll understand.

4. Louisa May Alcott – Of Little Women fame, her stories are always delightfully beautiful.

3. Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games says all I ever wanted to say about her.

2. Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson And The Olympians shook me like anything. I developed a great love for mythology, and had split my sides laughing with Percy’s description of the Gods.

1. J.K. Rowling – Rightfully tops my list along with Harry Potter.

Who are YOUR favourite authors? Tell us in by commenting below!

6 thoughts on “#5 Top Ten Tueday

Your Epic Thoughts...

